illinois Digital News

Aberg competing at Arnold Palmer Cup in Switzerland


LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech rising senior Ludvig Aberg is set to compete in at the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup this weekend at the Golf Club de Geneve in Switzerland. Aberg, who helped the International Team win last year’s Arnold Palmer Cup, returns to the prestigious competition after a season at Tech where he won the Ben Hogan Award and secured All-American honors for the second straight season.

The 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup is set to be played on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. The selections for the teams were made in April based on rankings. Aberg is currently back at No. 2 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking after finishing fifth at The Amateur Championship and in the top-20 at the European Amateur Championship earlier this month. He won the 2022 Big 12 Championship individual title and was 11th at the NCAA Championship to earn All-American honors.

Along with Aberg, International team ranking qualifiers for the Arnold Palmer Cup included Alexandra Forsterling (Arizona State; Germany), Natasha Andrea Oon (San Jose State; Malaysia), Hannah Darling (South Carolina; Scotland), Aline Krauter (Stanford; Germany), Ashley Lau (Michigan; Malaysia), and Carolina Chacarra (Wake Forest; Spain) for the women and Fred Biondi (Florida; Brazil), Eugenio Chacarra (Oklahoma State; Spain), Adrien Dumont de Chassart (Illinois; Belgium), Albin Bergstrom (USF; Sweden), and Frederik Kjettrup (Florida State; Denmark) for the men.

International Team Committee selections were Archie Davies (East Tennessee State; Wales), Mateo Fernández de Oliveira (Arkansas; Argentina), Christo Lamprecht (Georgia Tech; South Africa), Julia Lopez Ramirez (Mississippi State; Spain), Hsin-Yu Lu (Oregon; Taiwan), Benedetta Moresco (Alabama; Italy), Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen (Oklahoma State; Denmark), and Amelia Williamson (Florida State; England). David Kitt (Maynooth; Ireland) and Lorna McClymont (Stirling; Scotland) were the representatives from The R&A Student Tour Series. International Team Head Coach Phil Rowe selected James Leow (Arizona State; Singapore) for his coach’s pick and Head Coach Diana Cantú selected Kajsa Arwefjäll (San Jose State; Sweden).

United States team ranking qualifiers included Rose Zhang (Stanford), Amari Avery (Southern California), Rachel Kuehn (Wake Forest), Gurleen Kaur (Baylor), Calynne Rosholt (Arizona State), and Antonia Malate (San Jose State) for the women and Sam Bennett (Texas A&M), Cole Sherwood (Vanderbilt), Johnny Keefer (Baylor), Gordon Sargent (Vanderbilt), Travis Vick (Texas), and Walker Lee (Texas A&M) for the men.

United States Team Committee selections were Michael Brennan (Wake Forest), Rachel Heck (Stanford), Palmer Jackson (Notre Dame), Dylan Menante (Pepperdine), Brooke Seay (Stanford), Erica Shepherd (Duke), Latanna Stone (LSU), and Michael Thorbjornsen (Stanford). Jake Doggett (Midwestern State) and Olivia Mitchell (Dallas Baptist) were the non-Division I selections. Head Coaches Kory Henkes and Jim Ott selected Julia Johnson (Ole Miss) and Nick Gabrelcik (North Florida) as their coach’s picks, respectively.

Returners to the International team are Åberg (2020), Chacarra (2021), Dumont de Chassart (2021), and McClymont (2019). Johnson, Kuehn, and Stone will compete in their third Palmer Cup, while Bennett, Gabrelcik, Menante, and Shepherd return from the 2021 United States squad.

The Red Raiders have also been represented at the Arnold Palmer Cup by Nils Floren (2011), Clement Sordet (2015), Hannes Ronneblad (2017), Frederick Nilehan (2018), Hurly Long (2018), Ivan Ramirez (2019) and Sandy Scott (2019).

With 25 years of history behind it, the Arnold Palmer Cup comes to Golf Club de Genève from July 1–3, 2022 for the first time, bringing the world’s best collegiate golfers to Switzerland’s premiere golf destination. Co-ed since 2018, the annual Ryder Cup-style competition sees men and women from the United States playing side-by-side against their International counterparts on some of the world’s most storied courses.

“Golf Club de Genève’s beautiful setting, top conditions, and long history of supporting amateur golf makes it the perfect host for the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup,” said Amy Palmer Saunders, chair of the Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation. “We’re honored to be celebrating the Club’s 100th anniversary with its membership in 2022.”

The Palmer Cup was co-founded by Arnold Palmer and The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), and began in 1997 at the Bay Hill Club & Lodge in Orlando, Fla. The event is a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top men’s and women’s university/college golfers, with a team from the United States matching up against a team of International players. The Palmer Cup has been played at some of the world’s greatest courses, including The Old Course; Royal County Down; Royal Portrush; Baltusrol; The Honors Course; and Cherry Hills. The 2018 event at Evian Resort Golf Club became the first major amateur American tournament to feature men and women playing side-by-side as partners.

Since its inception, over 125 former Arnold Palmer Cup alumni have gone on to earn cards on the PGA, European or LPGA Tours; 29 have represented Europe or the USA in the Ryder Cup or Presidents Cup, and more than 60 have claimed over 275 victories on the PGA or European Tours, including three major championships in 2020 and two in 2021. The United States leads the Palmer Cup series 13-11-1.

The Arnold & Winnie Palmer Foundation supports the Palmer Cup, which provides a platform for perpetuating Arnold Palmer’s commitment to youth character development and the growth of amateur/collegiate golf. For more information, please visit


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.